NJCPA Names June M. Toth, CPA, of WilkinGuttenplan President for 2024/25

 – June 1, 2024
NJCPA Names June M. Toth, CPA, of WilkinGuttenplan President for 2024/25

The New Jersey Society of CPAs (NJCPA) welcomed June M. Toth, CPA, CFF, CITP, CGMA, principal at WilkinGuttenplan, as president for the 2024/25 term. Toth replaced Edward G. O’Connell, CPA, CGMA, CFF, CFE, partner at Withum, on June 1.  

Toth has been an active member of the NJCPA since 1995 and served in a variety of capacities including as a Trustee and Treasurer, as well as chair of the NJ-CPA-PAC Board of Trustees, chair of the Committee Operations Committee and leader of the Business Valuation, Forensic & Litigation Services Interest Group. She has also served on numerous NJCPA committees and interest groups. 

Prior to WilkinGuttenplan, Toth was the managing member of zbt Certified Public Accounting & Consulting, LLC. She is the president of Roots & Wings, a nonprofit for aged-out foster youth, in Denville and was a treasurer of Garwood Municipal Library. Toth was a recipient of the NJCPA Volunteer Award in 2018 and its Women to Watch Award in 2019; one of New Jersey Monthly’s Leading Women in 2015 and one of the NJBIZ Accounting Power 50 from 2020 to 2022. She earned her Bachelor of Science in Accounting from Rutgers University, graduating Summa Cum Laude, and is a member of its Accounting Advisory Board. She lives in Garwood with her husband, Ed, and has an adult child, Ed.  

As president, Toth intends to focus on widening the career pathway for aspiring young professionals and breaking down barriers to entry into the accounting profession. “Having the CPA license can open doors and help you to be more successful,” she explained.

“We are very fortunate to have June as president. Her passion for the profession and commitment to assisting the next generation of leaders is an inspiration to us all. We also thank Ed O’Connell for his service to the Society this year, particularly his focus on students entering the field of accounting,” said Aiysha (AJ) Johnson, MA, IOM, CEO and executive director at the NJCPA.

2024/25 NJCPA Board of Trustees

  • President: June M. Toth, CPA, CFF, CITP, CGMA — WilkinGuttenplan
  • President-Elect: John M. Szczomak, CPA — Smolin, Lupin & Co.
  • Secretary: Katherine E. Zech, CPA — PKF O’Connor Davies
  • Treasurer: Ralph J. Evangelista, CPA, CGMA, MST — Frazer, Evangelista & Company
  • Immediate Past President: Edward G. O’Connell, CPA, CGMA, CFF, CFE — Withum
  • CEO & Executive Director: Aiysha (AJ) Johnson, MA, IOM — NJCPA
  • Trustees:
    • Brent M. Ashton, CPA — Ernst & Young
    • Kathleen Bernard, CPA Lota & Bernard
    • Zachary B. Cohen, CPA — CFGI
    • Nicole M. DeRosa, CPA, MAcc Wiss & Company
    • Amy MacFadyen, CPA — EisnerAmper
    • Gary S. Mannuzza Jr., CPA — The Koenig Group
    • Chris J. Schiffer, CPA, CFP, MBA, AIF — Wealth Enhancement Group
    • Dr. Sean D. Stein Smith, CPA, CFE, CGMA, CMA, DBA — Lehman College (CUNY)
    • Catherine Syslo, CPA CohnReznick
    • Michele Theuerkauf, CPA — Michele Theuerkauf, CPA LLC
    • Robert J. Valas, CPA/ABV, CVA, CFE — Cullari Callico
    • Paula M. Young, CPA — EisnerAmper