Congratulations to the 2020 NJCPA Scholarship Recipients

 – April 24, 2020
Congratulations to the 2020 NJCPA Scholarship Recipients

As part of its ongoing commitment to assist aspiring CPAs, the NJCPA Scholarship Fund awarded more than $380,000 in scholarships to New Jersey high school and college accounting students in April. 

More than 220 students applied for the 60th annual awards, which ranged from $1,000 to $7,000 and included several chapter and “in name of” distributions. This year's awards included one named in recognition of Robert L. Garrity for his service as executive director of the NJCPA by the Council of Past Presidents. Garrity, a retired CPA, passed away on Jan. 13.

Congratulations to this year’s scholarship recipients:

High School Senior Awards ($7,000)

  • Isabella Alip, Williamstown High School
  • Michael Bargna, Northern Vly Region-Old Tappan HS
  • Grant Bloch, Hunterdon Central Regional High School
  • Grace D'Amico, Clearview Regional High School
  • Nayeli Franco, Hamilton High School West
  • Jason Howe, Holy Cross Prep Academy
  • Chloe Jakubowski, Whippany Park High School
  • Matthew Krefting, Wayne Valley High School
  • Alexander Lee, Lenape High School
  • Alyssa Ligotti, Jefferson Twp High School
  • Michael Lobifaro, Holmdel High School
  • Jack Lynch, Manchester Twp High School
  • Amanda Potts, Bridgewater Raritan High School
  • Julia Rabbia, River Dell Regional High School
  • Josephine Salluce, West Essex Sr High School
  • Maya Sleczka, Hunterdon Central Regional High School

College Awards ($6,500)

  • Jehan Abayhan, Montclair State University
  • Tomer Bachar, Ramapo College of New Jersey
  • Emily Binstein, Rutgers Business School-New Brunswick
  • Anton Derkach, Rutgers Business School- New Brunswick
  • Melanie Fosko, TCNJ-School of Business
  • Ankita Kodali, Rutgers Business School-New Brunswick
  • Shannon Lambert, The College of New Jersey
  • Matthew Matero, Rider University
  • Anthony Mullen, Rutgers-New Brunswick
  • Leidy Nizama, Seton Hall University
  • Benjamin Prill, Ramapo College of New Jersey
  • Joseph Stoneback, Rutgers Business School-New Brunswick
  • Alexander Tassi, Rutgers School of Business-Camden
  • Mark Vintayen, Rutgers Business School-New Brunswick

Minority Scholarships 

  • NJCPA/AICPA ($5,500)
    • Adriana Hong, Rutgers University
    • Adriana Tirado, Rider University
  • NJCPA/NNJ-NABA ($5,500)
    • Anissa Crump, TCNJ-School of Business
    • Kelvin Paez, TCNJ-School of Business
  • NJCPA/NABA Eastern Regional Scholarship ($1,000)
    •  Ty-Lynn Johnson, Rutgers University

“In Name of” Awards ($6,500)

  • CohnReznick
    • Kenneth Echie, Rutgers University
  • EisnerAmper LLP
    • Kristen Hebbe, TCNJ-School of Business
  • Frazer, Evangelista & Company, LLC
    • Michael Pantano, Seton Hall University
  • Frederick and Lenore Horn
    • Kyle Benvenuto, Centenary University
    • Rosa Gutierrez, Fairleigh Dickinson University-Madison
  • John F. Daily Jr.
    • Matthew Gordon, Stevens Institute of Technology
  • John S. Lee
    • Chloe Shortino, Rider University
  • Jules C. Frankel
    • John Hanley, The College of New Jersey
  • Lisa A. Donahue
    • Jessica Beck, Rowan University
  • Mazars USA LLP
    • Samantha Fellin, Rutgers University
  • Michael A. Polito
    • Lena Barone, Ramapo College of New Jersey
  • Monmouth/Ocean Scholarship - In Memory of Joseph D. Leone, Jr.
    • John Pagliettini, Seton Hall University
  • NJCPA Council of Past Presidents - In Memory of Robert L. Garrity
    • Shannon Devitt, TCNJ-School of Business
  • Smolin, Lupin & Co. P.A.
    • Ermilie Moise, William Paterson University of New Jersey
  • Stephen F. Manuzza Foundation
    • Mariah Sepulveda-Toczynski, Saint Peter’s University
  • Untracht Early
    • Stacey Norman, Montclair State University
  • Withum
    • Monet Elgawly, Rutgers University
    • Juan Paez, The College of New Jersey
  • Z. Thaddeus Zawacki
    • Jessica Gaeta, Seton Hall University

Chapter College Awards

  • Atlantic Cape May 
    • Michael Kurz, Stockton University ($3,000)
    • Kylie Owens, Stockton University ($5,000)
    • Steven Palmerson, Stockton University ($3,000)
  • Bergen Chapter 
    • Richard Agrusti, Seton Hall University ($1,500)
    • Amanda Hackett, Montclair State University ($2,750)
    • Paulina Janiec, Ramapo College of New Jersey ($1,500)
    • Tou Kan, Northeastern University ($3,500)
    • Negin Kholdi, Ramapo College of New Jersey ($3,000)
    • Matthew Lynch, Ramapo College of New Jersey ($4,000)
    • Samuel Phelan, College of the Holy Cross ($2,250)
    • Arkadiy Reydman, Rowan University ($2,250)
    • Sydney Sokol, Syracuse University ($2,250)
    • Angela Weber, Loyola College in Maryland ($3,000)
  • Mercer Chapter
    • Tinette Carter, Mercer County Community College ($1,500)
    • Ashika Gopalkrishnan, Mercer County Community College ($2,500)
    • Andrew Gorka, Rutgers Business School ($2,500)
    • John Hanley, TCNJ- School of Business ($2,500)
    • Vanessa Ramirez, Mercer County Community College ($2,500)
    • Shehreyar Rehman, Rider University ($2,500)
    • Leonor Salgado-Narvaez, Mercer County Community College ($1,500)
    • Matilde Sanchez, Mercer County Community College ($2,500)
    • Oyungerel Tumendelger, Rider University ($2,500) 
To support the NJCPA Scholarship Fund, visit